Since Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology's (formerly known as Rural Economy) inception in the early 1960s, our alumni have taken on many fulfilling careers in government, industry, and academia in the fields of agricultural economics, natural resource management, development, rural sociology, forest economics, and others. A former Premier of Saskatchewan and the best-selling author The Economics of Happiness can be counted among our alumni to our department. Below you will find a profiling of some of our most notable alumni through the years and learn about all the interesting careers they have gone on to find.

Janaki Alavalapati (Department Head, Department of Forest Resource and Environmental Conservation, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University)
Eva Bogdan (Ph.D. student; E.A. Bogdan Research and Consulting Inc.; Project Coordinator, Community Futures)
Colin Carter (Professor, University of California, Davis)
Colette Fluet-Howrish (Centre Director of Music Together of the Prairie Sky)
Atakelty Hailu (Associate Professor, University of Western Australia)
Scott Heckbert (Research Assistant Professor, Portland State University)
Murray Hawkins (Professor Emeritus, University of Alberta)
Pamela Jagger (Assistant Professor, Department of Public Policy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Joseph Karugia (Coordinator of the Regional Strategic Analysis and Knowledge Support System for Eastern and Central Africa (ReSAKSS-ECA) based at the International Livestock Research Institute in Nairobi)
Wayne Lamble (Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Extension, University of Alberta)
Darla Hatton MacDonald (Research Scientist, CSIRO)
Norah MacKendrick (Ph.D. student, University of Toronto)
Tracey Poitras-Collins (Project Manager, Yellowhead Tribal Council)
Kwamena Quagrainie (Aquaculture Marketing Director & Extension Specialist, Purdue University)
Brandon Schaufele (Post Doctorate Fellow, Richard Ivey School of Business, University of Western Ontario)
William Pattison (Farmer, Lecturer, Augustana Faculty, University of Alberta)
Zoe Todd (Ph.D. student, University of Aberdeen)

Mark Anielski (Ecological Economist, Consultant, Professor, Author)
Jesse Cole (Crop Economist, Alberta Agriculture)
Rodney Dlugos (Agrologist, Director of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada's Alberta & Territories Departmental Regional Office)
Jim Lockhart (Economist, Agriculture Canada)
Anish Neupane (Economist, Alberta Environment)
Jo Ann Sandhu (Manager, Economics and Statistics Unit, Ministry of Agriculture, British Columbia)
Greg Smith (Executive Director, Alberta Turkey Producers)
Darrell Toma (Toma & Boma Management Consultants)

Victoria Laidlaw (Alberta Education)
Ross Mitchell (Senior Consultant, Environmental Resources Management)
John Pattison (Independent Research Consultant, Ducks Unlimited)
Pearce Shewchuk (Management and Economic Consultant, Nichols Applied Management)

Brenda Brindle (Executive Director of Environmental Stewardship Division, Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development)
Jeewani Fernando (Provincial Consumer Market Analyst, Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development)
Wendy Cymbal (Manager of International Policy Research, Health Canada )
Sean Royer (Executive Director of Industry Investments, Alberta Livestock and Meat Agency)
Julius Salegio (Strategic Research Analyst, Government of Alberta)
Bryce Stewart (Director of Strategic Planning and Policy Excellence, Alberta Executive Branch )
Dadi Sverrisson (Energy Market Analyst, Landsvirkjun)
Kinga Uto (Manager of Portfolio Optimization and Trading, Capital Power Corporation)
Peter Woloshyn (Chief Executive Officer, Natural Resources Conservation Board, Alberta)

Peter Chen (Deputy Head Canada-China Agriculture Trade Policy, Agriculture Agri-Food Canada)
Dana Hayden (Deputy Minister of Jobs, Tourism and Innovation, Government of British Columbia)